• Non wins with 54.3% in Bolivian referendum reelection with 80% of votes counted.
  • President Morales asked to wait “calmly” the official data and reiterated that respect the outcome because “that’s democracy.”

54.3% of Bolivians voted not to amend the constitution to allow a new nomination of President Evo Morales in 2019, according to the official count of the Supreme Electoral Tribunal, showing an increase of 80%.

the percentage represents more than 2.3 million of the votes , a total of 4.2 million votes recorded so far in the count posted on the website of TSE.

the soundings quick count released Sunday at the end of the constitutional referendum also gave the No victory with a percentage of 51% to 52.3% against 47.7 and 49% of Yes, but the government spoke of “technical tie” and asked to wait for the official results.

according to the report of the electoral body, the Yes won 45.6% support , equivalent to more than 1.9 million votes.

the official results confirm the triumph of unanticipated by Ipsos polls and Equipos Mori on Sunday, four hours after the closure of polling stations.

in the electoral processes in Bolivia traditionally gives validate the result of the polls exit polls and quick count on election night because the usual delay of the final official count, which usually takes several days.

President Morales asked to wait “calmly” official data and reiterated that respect the outcome because “that’s democracy.”

in an appearance before the media in La Paz, the first day after the vote, the president hoped that the vote in rural areas could reverse the verdict in advance by surveys, because that happened in other elections in Bolivia.

More than 6.5 million Bolivians were called to vote in Sunday’s referendum, which was consulted on constitutional reform for expand from two to three consecutive presidential terms allowed , which would enable Morales and Vice president Alvaro Garcia Linera could again become candidates in 2019.

the president and vice president began their first term in 2006, the second in 2010 and third in 2015.

Although the Constitution allows only two consecutive terms, Morales and García Linera were submitted to the elections of 2014 by a ruling of the Constitutional Court he endorsed his first term (2006-2010) does not count because the country was refounded as Plurinational State in 2009.